Department of Psychology

The Department of Psychology was established in the year 2012 and the first batch of Post Graduate students was admitted in the year 2013. The course structure for Masters Degree in Psychology has been so designed as to provide students with strong theoretical as well as practical orientations in the various domains of psychological science. Over the four semester course, students go for a Clinical Posting Program at the LGB Regional Institute of Mental Health (LGBRIMH), Tezpur, and to various Special Schools , Rehabilitations Centers , Orphanages, and Old Age Homes. The department has also introduced PhD program in 2017. The students and faculty of the department conducts Mental Health Talks as a part of community outreach to spread awareness about mental health and mental illness.

Head I/C:
Dr. Nigamananda Das,
Professor in English,
Dean, School of Humanities and Education
Email: hodpsychologynu[at]

Department E-Mail: psychology[at]